While Ya’ll Are Laughing at Precious on #Empire Gabby is Getting Money, Honey

I recently became a watcher of obsessed with American Horror Story. I binge watched all three seasons, within a matter of about two weeks (thanks Netflix). I was pleasantly surprised to see Gabourey Sidibe in season 3, Coven. She played a witch and I really enjoyed watching her on the show. I was also surprised to see her when I happened to catch an episode of Fox’s new show, Empire. However, I was disappointed to see Gabourey wasn’t getting a warm welcome on the web…

This is just a small sampling of the many tweets sent out last week about the show:

2015-02-25 19.17.33 2015-02-25 19.17.59

First of all, stop calling the woman PRECIOUS!! Her name is Gabourey.

Second of all, while you are sitting on your couch judging in your jammies, Gabourey is getting money.

American Horror Story and Empire are both huge hits!

It’s funny how people often complain that all shapes, sizes, and colors aren’t represented on film and tv–and when you get it, you chastise the actress. This is one of the most severe cases of internet bullying. Thousands of people, firing off at least a tweet a second, making cruel jokes about her weight, hair, style, and everything in between.

I admire Gabourey for taking the high road. She rarely responds to the haters and when she does, she reminds them that she’s laughing all the way to the bank. Joke’s on you!

2015-02-25 19.17.00

One thought on “While Ya’ll Are Laughing at Precious on #Empire Gabby is Getting Money, Honey

  1. I’m glad you point this out, because it is SO true! People are so mean and unfortunately the internet and social media gives them a platform to say all kinds of rude, awful, not nice things they would never say to someones face! I mean working in TV you get a small dose, but I can’t imagine how much negativity folks like Gabourey must encounter. I’m glad she gets the last laugh though…

    Like

Leave a Reply

